OFFEE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REGULAR MEETING TUESDAY, JANUARY 2, 2018 9:30 O'CLOCK A.M. COMMISSIONERS' MEETING ROOM

Coffee County Board of Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, January 2, 2018, at 9:30 o'clock A.M. with the following present: Chairman Oscar Paulk, Vice-Chairman AJ Dovers, Commissioners Jimmy Kitchens, Charles H. Deen, and Johnny Wayne Jowers, County Attorney Tony Rowell, County Administrator Wesley Vickers and County Clerk Tracie Vickers.

Chairman Paulk called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Commissioner Kitchens asked County Assistant Road Superintendent Wendell Troupe to give the invocation. Everyone participated in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Commissioner Jowers made the motion for the following county officers for 2018:

Chairman Commissioner AJ Dovers Vice Chairman Commissioner Charles Deen

County Clerk Tracie Vickers
Deputy Clerk Princess Porter
Deputy Clerk Abby Paulk
County Attorney Tony Rowell
County Auditor Road Superintendent Don Stokes
Assistant Road Superintendent Wendell Troupe

Commissioner Deen Kitchens made a second to this motion. All Commissioners unanimously agreed. Commissioner Dovers then assumed the role of Chairman for FY 2018.

Chairman Dovers announced the TSPLOST Roundtable Executive Committee Meetings will be held January 5th, 12th, and 17th in Pearson, Georgia.

Chairman Paulk asked for a motion to to approve the minutes of the pre-meeting work session and regular meeting held on December 18, 2017, and the Public Hearing held on December 21, 2017. Commissioner Paulk made a motion to approve the minutes and this was seconded by Commissioner Jowers. All Commissioners unanimously agreed.

Commissioner Deen made a motion to approve the agenda and this was seconded by Commissioner Kitchens. All Commissioners unanimously agreed.

County Attorney Rowell stated the County has received a Hold Harmless Agreement for the County and EDA from Premium Peanut for the Rail Spur Grant. Attorney Rowell stated this Agreement gives the County indemnity protection in the event of a breach of agreement. County Attorney Rowell stated this agreement is ready for approval. Chairman Dovers asked for a motion to approve or reject the Hold Harmless Agreement from Premium Peanut for the Rail

Spur Grant. Commissioner Jowers made a motion to approve the agreement. Commissioner Paulk seconded the motion. All Commissioners were in favor.

County Administrator Vickers stated the Fiscal Year 2018 budget had been advertised and the public hearing was held as required by law and was ready for adoption. The general fund budget is \$15,618,200.00 and the Combined Special Revenue Fund budget is \$12,285,000.00. Chairman Dovers asked for a motion to approve or reject the 2018 budgets. Commissioner Kitchens made a motion to approve these budgets and this was seconded by Commissioner Deen. All Commissioners unanimously agreed.

Chairman Dovers asked for a motion to approve board appointments. Commissioner Kitchens made a motion to appoint:

Economic Development Authority for a 3 year term – Dr. Rowland Cummings Board of Health – 6 year term - Dr. Mahendra Amin Board of Health - 1 year term - AJ Dovers Southern Georgia Regional Commission – 1 Year Term - AJ Dovers Ocmulgee Blue Way Committee - 1 Year Term - Tony Rowell Ocmulgee Blue Way Committee – 1 Year Term - Charles Deen

County Clerk

This motion was seconded by Commissioner Dovers. All Commissioners unanimously agreed.

Chairman Dovers asked for a motion to adjourn the Regular Meeting a 9:39 o'clock A.M.
Commissioner Deen made a motion and this was seconded by Commissioner Kitchens All
Commissioners unanimously agreed.
<u></u>

Chairman